©2019 by Rachael Bell-Irving. Proudly created with Wix.com

Books

Demons at the Doorstep

Coming January 2020

Jessica has better things to do than run for her life, but that is the least of her worries. Powerful magic is being unleashed in her city, causing unnatural northern lights to coat the sky. As a Beata, a balance keeper of magic, it is Jessica’s duty to uncover the potential threat. Standing in her way is the band of witch hunters. Led by Connor Crowe and his brother Damien, the group is determined to purge all magic from reality. When mutated demons begin to rise from the shadows and witch hunters start disappearing, Jessica is threatened with her greatest challenge. She must destroy the nearly indestructible monsters and unmask the summoner, all while controlling the immense power at her fingertips. What she did not anticipate was being forced to team up with her most dangerous enemy to do it.

Demons at the Doorstep is an upper YA Urban Fantasy full of demons, witty banter, magic spells, and deadly sunsets. Perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer or the Mortal Instruments. 

 

A thoroughly enjoyable read, fits right in with today's supernatural/ adventure novels. We are given such a rich history, and yet, such a fresh take on witches and the magical realm. Great character development, an almost palpable connection that leaves you feeling invested in what lies ahead. I look forward to the sequel and hopefully the introduction of new characters, maybe some other magical beings?!

Leah

Great start to what promises to be a great series. Couldn’t put it down. The author grabs your attention with the main characters right in the first chapter and jumps into an adventure that leaves you caring about what happens to these people and anxious to find out what happens next. A must read for any fantasy/adventure fan looking for something new and fresh

John B

I’d highly recommend Demons At The Doorstep. Rachael Bell-Irving is a wonderful story teller.  The novel is filled with gripping action and nail-biting suspense. There’s humour to alleviate stressful situations along with a teasing love interest between two unlikely [allies].  All are makings of a good read and the promise of a great series. I look forward to book two

Barb K